Skip to main content


The Counter-Strike: Global Offensive national trials qualifier for the 10th Esports World Championship, hosted by the International Esports Federation.

Gather your teammates and prepare for combat, this year the winners will earn the highest national honour in esports and join Team Australia to play against 40 other nations in Kaohsiung, Taiwan at the 10th ESPORT WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP from the 6th – 13th November 2018.

Registrations closed.

Preliminaries run from 21st – 29th July

Once registrations close, tournament admins will select the top 6 teams who will be advanced seeded into the Top 8 Groups Stage. With the remaining teams playing through the Single Elimination Bracket ODC to earn one of the two remaining spots.

Registered Teams

  • frosty
  • Empire Silver
  • Faded eSports
  • Rise and Grind
  • Blink Once For Help
  • Dynasty ESC
  • Chiefs Esports Club
  • Empire Black
  • PC419
  • Avant Gaming
  • Mad Like Wizards
  • Ground Zero

Top 8

  • Rise and Grind
  • Blink Once For Help
  • Dynasty ESC
  • Chiefs Esports Club
  • Empire Black
  • Avant Gaming
  • Mad Like Wizards
  • Ground Zero


Round Robin One Day Competition (ODC)

Held on the 22nd July teams will be placed into a best of one (BO1) Round Robin. Only the top two teams will advance to join the other 6 teams who were advanced to the group stage.

Teams that have been advanced to the group stage will be notified ahead of time and be posted for the public to see.

Top 8 Groups Stage – 

Taking place on the 28th July the top 8 teams will be divided into two groups where they will play in a BO1 round robin within their group. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals.


After the conclusion of the top 8 Group Stage, on the 28th July team 1 from group A will play Team 2 from group B, Team 2 from group A will play Team 1 from group B in a best of 3 format where the winner from each match will advance to the Grand Finals.

Grand finals

The Grand Final will take place on the 11-12th of August at the Royal Exhibition Centre in Melbourne.

Prizes & Opportunities

The winners of the Counter-Strike: Global Offensive Grand Finale will go on to represent the county in Kaohsiung, Taiwan for the 2018 IESF World Championship.

Winners (core 5 players) will receive the following:

  • National Team Uniform
  • Flights to Kaohsiung, Taiwan
  • Accommodation
  • Transfers
  • Meals

All paid for by the AESA.

2017 Representatives

Last year Australia sent 5 representatives in Counter-Strike: Global Offensive to Busan, South Korea to compete in the 2017 IESF World Championship where they placed 5th in the world.

The Representatives

  • Tyler ‘tucks’ Reily
  • Peter ‘pecks’ Nguyen
  • Liam ‘malta’ Schembri
  • Alistar ‘aliStair’ Johnston
  • Oliver ‘Dickstacy’ Tiemey

Their journey began in Australia where they outperformed 25 other teams to secure their spot at representing the nation on the global stage. They were also apart of making history by competing in Australia’s first free to air broadcast (SBS Videland) of an esports tournament.

The 2018 IeSF CS:GO National Qualifier is brought to you by MSY Technology.

MSY is one of Australia’s top technology re-sellers, with over 21 years in the IT industry.

What can the Australian eSports Association do for you?