Skip to main content

National Trials

2019 IeSF National Trials

The Australian national trials for the 11th Esports World Championship will determine who will represent Australia and join our national team on the world stage against 49 other nations taking place on the 11-15th of December 2019 in Seoul, South Korea.

About the IeSF

The International eSports Federation (IeSF) hosts an annual World Championship featuring over 35 countries who each send a national team of athletes to represent the country.

Last year Australia sent 11 representatives in Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, League of Legends and Tekken 7 to the World Championship in Kaohsiung City, Taiwan.

The combined effort saw Australia place 9th in the world! You can learn more at

Conditions of Entry

  • Entrants must be 15 years or older
  • Must be an Australian Citizen who is currently residing in Australia
  • Must have no flight restrictions within / outside of Australia
  • Own / obtain an Australian passport if selected to represent the nation.
  • All players must also have an AEL Player ID.

Read the Full Terms & Conditions here

Get your AEL Player ID here

2018 National Representatives

The following individuals represented Australia in the 2018 IeSF World Championship securing 5th place in CS:GO, 9th place in LoL and 5th place in Tekken 7.


  • Chase ‘Xtinct’ Dickson
  • Callum ‘bURNRUOk’ Henderson
  • Mark ‘deStiny’ Kagan
  • Nikhil ‘NikkeZ’ Victor
  • Cooper ‘void-’ Farrell

League of Legends:

  • Zhi ‘Dragkuu’ Gou
  • Max ‘Sizzle’ Tranter
  • Bailey ‘Hotchelli’ McDonald
  • Joel ‘Vek’ Skewes
  • Marc ‘Loneiy’ Byrnes

(Top image)

Tekken 7:

  • Danqing ‘Deeon Grey’ Xu

(Bottom image)

The Games


    Stage 1: Groups Round Robin One Day Competition  – 

    Teams will be devided into groups and will play a best of one (Bo1) Round Robin. with the top teams (8 total) advancing to stage 2

    Stage 2: Top 8 Groups Stage – 

    The top 8 teams will be divided into two groups where they will play in a Bo1 round robin within their group. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals, Where the top teams will play the 2nd placed team in the opposite group, the winners from these matches will advance to the Grand Finals.

    Key Dates & Locations

    • Registrations close: 5pm, August 24th
    • Preliminaries:
      • Stage 1: August 26th
      • Stage 2: August 27th
    • Grand Final: September 7th at The Emerge Festival in Chatswood, NSW.

    Prizes & Opportunities

    The winners (5 players total) will receive flights, accommodation and transfers to Seoul and the national team uniform to compete in the 2019 IESF World Championship.


    Qualifiers will be run in the following states;

    • WA
    • QLD
    • VIC
    • NSW

    With the winner of each being invited to the Finals at The Emerge Festival in Chatswood, NSW.

    The winner will be representing Australia in Seoul, South Korea the 11th Esports World Championships.

    Key Info



    NSW Qualifier will take place in the moring before the finals.


    • Where?: Emerge Festival in Chatswood, NSW
    • When?: 7th September

    Prizes & Opportunities

    The winner (1 player total) will receive flights, accommodation and transfers to Seoul and the national team uniform to compete in the 2019 IESF World Championship.

    What can the Australian eSports Association do for you?