Skip to main content

National Trials

2018 IeSF National Trials

The Australian national trials for the 10th Esports World Championship will determine who will represent Australia and join our national team on the world stage against 49 other nations in Kaohsiung City, Chinese Taipei at the Kaohsiung Arena from the 6th-13th November 2018.

About the IeSF

The International eSports Federation (IeSF) hosts an annual World Championship featuring over 35 countries who each send a national team of athletes to represent the country.

Last year Australia sent 6 representatives in Counter-Strike: Global Offensive and Tekken 7 to the World Championship in Busan South Korea on the 8-12th of November 2017.

The combined effort saw Australia place 18th in the world! You can learn more at

Prizes & Opportunities

The top 11 players who qualify to represent Australia in either Counter-Strike: Global Offensive (5 players total) League of legends (5 players total) or Tekken 7 (1 player total) will receive flights, accommodation and transfers to Kaohsiung, Taiwan and the national team uniform to compete in the 2018 IESF World Championship worth over $30,000.

2017 National Representatives

The following individuals represented Australia in the 2017 IeSF World Championship securing 5th place in CS:GO and 22nd place in Tekken 7.

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive:

  • Tyler ‘tucks’ Reily
  • Peter ‘pecks’ Nguyen
  • Liam ‘malta’ Schembri
  • Alistar ‘aliStair’ Johnston
  • Oliver ‘Dickstacy’ Tiemey

Tekken 7:

  • Gabriel ‘XXMFFNTP’ Najarro


Preliminaries: June 16th – July 8th
Grand Final: July 26th

Preliminaries: July 22 – 29th
Grand Final: August 11 – 12th

Preliminaries: July 22nd
Grand Final: August 11 – 12th

Key Dates & Conditions

Key Dates

  • Tekken 7:
    • Preliminaries:
      • VIC: June 16th
      • QLD: July 1st
      • NSW: July 7th
      • WA: July 8th
    • Grand Finals: July 26th
  • CSGO:
    • Registrations close: July 15th
    • Preliminaries:
      • Stage 1: July 22nd
      • Stage 2: July 28th
    • Grand Final: August 11-12th
  • League of Legends:
    • Registrations close: July 15th
    • Preliminaries: July 22nd
    • Grand Final: August 11-12th
  • World Championships: November 6th – 13th

Conditions of Entry

  • Entrants must be 15 years or older
  • Must be an Australian Citizen who is currently residing in Australia
  • Must have no flight restrictions within / outside of Australia
  • Own / obtain an Australian passport if selected to represent the nation.

What can the Australian eSports Association do for you?